ESPN changes ‘Sunday Night Baseball’ Broadcast after Yankees Threaten Boycott

ESPN has moved their July 8th Sunday Night Baseball Broadcast from New York to Los Angeles after the Yankees threatened to Boycott ESPN. The Sunday Night Baseball broadcast would’ve moved the July 8th game vs the Toronto Blue Jays from a 1:05pm start to 8:05pm, and the team has a double-header scheduled with Baltimore the next day which means they would have played three games in a 24-hour time span. Sunday Night Baseball will now feature the Los Angeles Dodgers and The Los Angeles Angels from Angel Stadium.

You can read more about the switch and what they boycott would have entailed here and here.

Victor Oladipo “Might Have a Future” in Sports broadcasting

During an interview on NHL Network before Stanley Cup Final Game 3, Victor Oladipo said he “might have a future” in sports broadcasting after his NBA career. Oladipo majored in Sports Broadcasting and Communications while at Indiana University and has appeared as a guest analyst for TNT’s basketball coverage in the past.

You can read more about Oladipo and his potential future career here.

Doris Burke Signs Contract Extension with ESPN

Doris Burke has been with ESPN in one capacity or another since 1991, and now she will continue to be there for the foreseeable future as Burke and ESPN announced Monday that they have agreed on a multi-year contract extension. Burke is well known for being involved with both in-game and studio coverage of the NBA, WNBA, and both men’s and women’s college basketball

You can read more about the extension and Burke’s career here.

Mike Haynes resigns as play-by-play voice of Colorado Avalanche

Mike Haynes has announced that he will not return as the play-by-play voice of the Colorado Avalanche next season. Mike has been a member of the Avalanche’s broadcast teams since they moved to Denver. He started as the play-by-play voice for the radio broadcasts and moved over to television starting with the 2005-2006 season.

You can read more about Mike Haynes and his decision here.

Fox Acquires Rights to WWE’s ‘Smackdown’ Series

After acquiring rights to the NFL’s Thursday Night Football broadcasts back in January, FOX has now purchased the rights to WWE’s Smackdown series. It is reported that Fox could be paying up to $1 Billion to televise the series for the next five years.

You can read more about the deal here.

Indianapolis 500 Race Moving from ABC to NBC

After being televised on ABC for 54 years, NBC has acquired the rights to broadcast the Indianapolis 500. A new deal between NBC Sports Group and IndyCar gives NBC exclusive rights to IndyCar races starting in 2019. Previously, races were split between ABC and NBC, but now all races will appear on either NBC or NBCSN; races will also be streamed on and the NBC Sports app.

You can read more about the new deal between NBC and IndyCar here.

MLB reaches agreement with Facebook to broadcast games this season

Major League Baseball has announced a 25-game partnership with Facebook for the 2018 season. Through this agreement, Facebook has gained exclusive rights to broadcast  25 weekday afternoon games through their platform via the MLB Live Facebook page. Because of the deal being exclusive to Facebook, these games will not be available through the team’s regional networks.

You can read more about the partnership here.

ESPN’s Hannah Storm named 2018 ‘Woman of Influence”

Hannah Storm, most known for being an anchor on ESPN’s Sportscenter, has been named the second annual “Woman of Influence” by Multichannel News. Storm will be honored at the 20th-annual Wonder Woman Luncheon on March 22nd in New York City.

You can read more about Hannah Storm and her achievement here.

Sports Illustrated Releases List of Top 25 Active Play-by-Play Broadcasters in Sports

Richard Deitsch of Sports Illustrated recently published a list of the top 25 national play-by-play broadcasters in sports today. The list starts with Verne Lundquist of CBS Sports at number 25 and ends with Mike Emrick of NBC Sports at number 1.

You can see the rest of the list as well as some facts about each play-by-play voice here.

Baseball Hall of Fame Announces 2018 Nominees for Frick Award

The Baseball Hall of Fame has announced the finalists for the 2018 Ford C Frick Award, one of the highest honors for baseball broadcasters. The eight finalists for the award are Buddy Blatner, Joe Buck, Bob Costas, Dizzy Dean, Don Drysdale, Al Michaels, Joe Morgan, and Pee Wee Reese.

The winner of this prestigious award will be announced December 13th at the league’s winter meetings in Florida. You can read more about the award and its finalists here.